If a student is entering a Division I or Division II College or university the NCAA Clearinghouse will evaluate their transcript for eligibility.  The new requirements increase the number of required core courses from 14 to 16.  That means that you must have 16 core credits to be eligible to practice, play and receive athletic scholarships at a Division I or Division II school.  The additional courses may come from any of the following areas:  English, math, science, social science, foreign language, non-doctrinal religion, philosophy, or computer science.  The new requirements also include a revision in the Division I initial eligibility index, or sliding scale. 

The 16 courses are:

  • 4 years of English
  • 3 years of math (Algebra I or higher)
  • 2 years of natural/physical science (one must be a lab science)
  • 1 year of additional English, math or science
  • 2 years of social studies
  • 4 years of additional core courses (from any area listed above, or from foreign language, non-doctrinal religion, or philosophy).

All students who do not meet the NCAA initial-eligibility requirements and who wish to apply for a waiver of those requirements must have the waiver filed on their behalf by an NCAA institution.  Students with disabilities will no longer be able to self-file waivers.  Prospective student-athletes may register with the

NCAA Initial Eligibility Clearinghouse online. Simply go to their website at